EPIK Teachers – What to pack suggestions

packingtipsNow since I’m half way through my year AND have felt what the extreme heat and below freezing weather that South Korea can bring, I feel best equipped to give advice on this topic now than ever before.

The lists of course vary due to your specific intake because during the year you can always 1. have someone send you stuff for the next season, 2. go home during your break to switch items out.

Spring Intake (You come in February & March):

Jeans x3;

Shirts x6 or 7;

Sweatshirts/Hoodies x 2 or 3;

a jacket (not coat – you wont need that until October / November)

Socks, undies, bras (at least 5)

Shorts, skirts, dresses, lounge shorts (like basketball shorts), work out clothes. 

A swimsuit / trunks or shorts (mudfest friendly)

TONS OF DEODORANT (You’re coming when the weather is about to change back to warm/HOT and your body hasn’t adjusted to the climate over here. Koreans dont sweat, they just dont. You WILL be the sweaty foreigner. But you DONT want to be the sweaty foreigner who stinks too!)

Any toilettrees you use back home. Some of them you can get here but you will pay triple the price. (PADS, PADS, TAMPONS, TAMPONS)

SNACKS & SEASONINGS... o I wish I knew this before hand…

*The emphasis you may think is important on work clothes is NON existent, at least for me and ALOT of the people I know teaching here. We all wear jeans, I wear sweats to work because its easy, comfortable and those are mainly the only thing I can find that fit and are decently long enough. Dont fill your bag with heels, dress shoes and business clothes. PLEASE DONT DO IT.

**********

Fall intake (You come in August and September)

Note: It will be hot when you get here but please take note that it WILL NOT LAST

Jeans, thermal tops, long sleeve shirts

Sweats

Tights / Leggings

A coat or TWO!

Beanies, Hoodies, Sweater, Scarves, gloves, thermals, under armour (do you see where I’m going…?)

The thickest socks you’ve never seen, Uggs, insulated boots, more socks, your thickest pair of sneakers

PADS, PADS, TAMPONS, TAMPONS

Again, once you have winter break that is when the transition into the warmer more human friendly months will emerge and then your items can begin to swap but just be prepared that coming here for the Fall semester is nothing nice in terms of weather. If you have anemia, etc, please be extra prepared in keeping yourself warm. Odds are you may have a case where they wont turn the heater on inside the cement walled buildings until December although it was below freezing back in October. IT HAPPENS!

Many people once settled in and they paycheck starts rolling in, order from iherb.com. They ship to korea and FAST. You can use code IVO319 for $10 off of your first order.

What to pack for naturals video coming soon…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you so much for making this list! I’m currently trying to pack and I feel i have too many work clothes but wasn’t sure about it. Also I am being placed in Gangwon-do for the Epik spring 2013 intake. I’m worried about shoes and clothes as my feet are not small and neither are my curves haha. So I’m stuggling with overpacking/underpacking. But this list will definitely help me reevaluate my packing situation. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment