3 reasons NOT to move to South Korea

1. Germs

2. Weather

3. Kimchi & Rice quantities

1. Once you step foot off the plane, you may notice, especially if you’re from the states that most people here sneeze AND cough without covering their mouth. You may think its just a thing because they have bags in their hands OR they couldn’t reach in time… but I’m here to tell you otherwise. It took me a whole semester to get maybe 60% of my kids to cover their mouths without thinking about it or being reminded. You are bound to get sick, and when that time happens all you can think about is how that germ literally TRAVELED FROM someone elses insides into your nose canal or mouth and set up shop INSIDE of you. Nice thought isn’t it?!

2. I start this by saying, I went to Syracuse. I’m talking 4 12-month periods in what I usually refer to as the tundra. Well I’ve got news for you AND the “tundra,” this weather thats poppin over here is on an arctic level and it’s nothing to ____ with. You could come from the coldest part of the states and still not be ready for THIS type of cold. This out here makes no sense. Last week I heard about the -50 degree weather Russia was having and thought…  then we must be at -20 because I’ve felt NOTHING LIKE THIS IN MY LIFE. This is NOT for the weak or someone with health issues (like Anemia) where cold weather would cause a problem. O and regular heat inside of buildings is a thing of the past once you cross over that water. The heat may be turned on however working in cement buildings makes the inside colder than outside which the heating systems here DO NOT AND CAN NOT maintain warmth inside. Think Hard about it… seriously.

3. Koreans dont have breakfast in the way most westerners think of breakfast. Yes, they eat but they eat rice and kimchi. “What is for lunch today? O, rice and kimchi with various side dishes… ok great. Eating anything special for dinner? O, no? Just rice and kimchi? ok” Repeat this process 365 days of the year. Coming from the states and ESPECIALLY L.A., not having a variety of foods available at all times of the day and night is something I didn’t think existed anywhere on this planet. I was so used to it, however I now have witnessed and see that this is for real in not just korea but in MANY parts of the world. The diversity that I valued but didn’t place on a pedestal is now something I truly miss and mainly because of the food. You can go to Itaewon to get international cuisine but if you live outside of Seoul, that’s an hour – 5 hour ride for you. I haven’t eaten in the school cafeteria since September. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Korean food but I cant manage to eat rice and kimchi every single day at the same time, every-single-day. My advice, pack a lunch.

Look out for: 3 reasons why you SHOULD move to Korea

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. 3 reasons you SHOULD move to South Korea « BELTA – Black English Language Teacher Abroad
  2. 3 reasons you SHOULD move to South Korea | Black English Lang. Teacher Abroad

Leave a Reply

