EPIK Interview Completed and Passed

Belta_Blog_80x80

 

Update: Bookmark and visit the new online location for this bloghttp://www.blackeltabroad.com

So, I had my interview last night. (This whole EPIK experience, oddly enough has been the first time I’ve used my skype and now I’m uber hyped about using it from now on)

Anywho, the interview went well and I knew I had passed it before it was over. How? Because she told me without telling me. *wink wink*

It started with asking me to confirm my name, address, phone, my alma mater (GO ‘CUSE), where I’d apply for my visa and what kind I would be applying for. She asked me about the CELTA, my teaching experience with Kindergartners, what motivates me to do well, how would I handle a situation of my co-teacher teaching the completely wrong thing to a class, and what kind of experience I wanted to have in South Korea.

I told her I had done so much research about SK that I probably know more than her about her own country. (No, I’m j/p, I didn’t say that!) But I did express to her that I was confident in the amount of information I had learned since my initial interest peaked back in January.

It lasted about 25 mins, it started 4 mins late, which FREAKED ME OUT, and after the 4th minute while I was about to type to my recruiter telling her, “ALERT – they haven’t called me yet,” I received a contact request… POW!

So, how did I know?

Well, towards the end she gave me the rundown of all the logistics, next steps, and asked for any questions. Since she had answered them all, All I had left to say was, “No, I think you’ve answered them all already” SMILE

She then told me she thought I was intelligent, very well-spoken and she could tell I was a great motivator. She confirmed my first choice of elementary and also said “I’m sure you will have no problem with elementary.” She also made note of my height, which is about 10 cm more than the average MALE in Korea. She said, “when you meet your co-teacher, I love your smile, so you should probably smile so you won’t be intimidating. First impressions are very lasting in Korea” (I took that as hint #1, saying “when you meet” pretty much had me feeling good at this point.

Next, she said “ok, well I guess I can tell you this, you can start getting [together] all of your documents” then I said “WOW. Ok. Thank You” when I wanted to jump up and say “TA DOW – HOW YOU LIKE ME NOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWW” but I knew hitting her with classic Ice Cube lyrics wouldn’t be the best move at that point.

So, she said nice to meet and thank you. I’d be hearing the results in 2 to 3 days…

SIKE… I woke up 6 hours later to an email with the subject: “CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!” At that point, I started to get that this, was real.

I’m now waiting to get my apostilles back, I went through Rushdocs.com and if all goes right, I should be sending my docs off to my recruiter in the first part of next week.

*************************************************************************************************************************

*NOW, FOR THE MAJOR PART OF THIS POST….

If you are waiting to hear back about an interview OR have had your interview and are in your 2-3 day wait period… my advice is to be confident and relax.

The point of the interview is like any other, they are trying to get to know YOU! If you aren’t nervous all the time, then no need to be in the interview. Yes they have the power to decide if they think you are a good choice for the program but it totally depends on you to show them that. What worked for me… I MADE HER LAUGH!!!! I kept smiling!!! I used my hands to talk because THAT’S WHAT I DO. During the interview is NOT the time to create a whole new person, because just like the interviewerย  doesn’t know you, neither do you. Let your skills, personality and passion do the work for you. Approach it like they’re a pen pal with oodles of questions about you because they think you’re the juice and want to know more.

Just go with the flow, and if you’ve done everything you’ve needed to do up until this point, then enjoy the ride and don’t let it stress you.

Good vibrations to you all! PAZ

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. J

     /  04/20/2012

    I found your blog through a post on waygook.org (yes, I will admit I was cyberstalking to see how many have been accepted) as I am currently playing the waiting game… I have my own interview tentatively scheduled for next week sometime and I’m trying very hard not to freak out until then. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I loved this post because it basically confirmed everything I have been trying to convince myself of and I had to thank you for putting such a positive spin on the whole situation. Yeah, it’s frustrating waiting but I’ve also tried my best – I’ve just got to wait for the powers to be to point me in the right direction, whether it be EPIK or elsewhere.

    Fingers crossed, and needless to say, I hope I get to meet you in August at orientation.
    Congratulations on your achievement – you truly deserve it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hey BELTA! (I don’t know your actual name?)
    Congratulations!!!!! I’m so psyched for you! My name is Belina and I’m also applying for Fall 2012 EPIK! I came across your blog randomly a while ago and I’ve been checking it frequently ever since. I always meant to leave a comment but never did–however this post totally deserves a comment! yay for belta! lol ๐Ÿ™‚ I also went through a recruiter and I have my interview scheduled for this Sunday night..I’m super nervous/excited about it and I really want to get it over and done with. Isn’t it crazy how long and crazy this EPIK journey has been–all before we even have our interview! Anyways, I’ll keep checking your blog to see how it all works out for you- I wish you all the best in gathering those docs! My friend who also applied passed her interview too! Oh and we’re both black too (Canadians)! ๐Ÿ˜€
    B.

    Reply
  3. Belina

     /  04/20/2012

    Hey BELTA! (I don’t know your actual name?)
    Congratulations!!!!! I’m so psyched for you! My name is Belina and I’m also applying for Fall 2012 EPIK! I came across your blog randomly a while ago and I’ve been checking it frequently ever since. I always meant to leave a comment but never did–however this post totally deserves a comment! yay for belta! lol ๐Ÿ™‚ I also went through a recruiter and I have my interview scheduled for this Sunday night..I’m super nervous/excited about it and I really want to get it over and done with. Isn’t it crazy how long and crazy this EPIK journey has been–all before we even have our interview! Anyways, I’ll keep checking your blog to see how it all works out for you- I wish you all the best in gathering those docs! My friend who also applied passed her interview too! Oh and we’re both black too (Canadians)! ๐Ÿ˜€
    B.

    Reply
  4. TA DOW!
    I am so happy that you have the relief of a good interview. Congratulations and good luck to all you other applicants! -I am also excited so many other “beltas” are applying. Thanks, BELTA for making it known. *smile*
    and happy travels!

    Reply
  5. Good luck with the rest of the EPIK process. There is a lot of waiting and nervousness, but it is definitely worth it! South Korea is a wonderful country and a great place to have your first ELT experience. I am planning to return in a few years (currently working on trying to get a ELT job in Spain). Looking forward to hearing about the rest of your journey!

    Reply
  6. toto99

     /  10/24/2012

    i had my interview today; the coordinator asked me about my visa docs; she came across strongly that i should have already started with these docs, when the epik site clearly states that they will only request the visa docs after a successful interview; why would they want you to spend money on these docs if you may fail the interview? she also spoke about the number of positions available in the city that i wanted and i should have started getting my visa docs. she also gave me her email address; the email that they sent confirming that i reached the interview stage said that the coordinator will only give you their email address after a successful interview. are these good signs? i did botch up two questions and sometimes mumbled.

    Reply
    • Yes. In an ideal world, you would be well into your 3rd week or so week of waiting for your CRC to be returned, making sure your passport is up-to-date and that you have your recs, transcripts, etc. ready to go, so that once you’ve heard of your acceptance you can mail out your docs immediately. It’s just the risk you take but in this process the most valuable thing you have is time. If you’re aiming for a competitive city, you should have your papers burning in your hand so as soon as you open the email you can run to FedEx to send them off.

      They say they will request them meaning request them from you not for you to send off for them. The CRC alone (ASSUMING you are in the states) takes a smooth 6-8 weeks to get back.

      Dont look too far into the email thing. Getting all of your documents in your hand AS SOON AS POSSIBLE I would say should be the biggest priority at this point. And also, if you want Seoul by chance, GEPIK is also a good option and one I wish I knew more about as I would have definitely done that one instead. But hey… you live and learn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

